Pin It

Screen Nova Scotia rolls out award nominees 

Third annual gala hosted at Casino Nova Scotia.

Ashley McKenzie's Werewolf is nominated for Best Feature Film. - STEVE WADDEN
  • Ashley McKenzie's Werewolf is nominated for Best Feature Film.
  • Steve Wadden

Screen Nova Scotia Awards Gala
Thursday, May 4
Casino Nova Scotia

The names are in.

The nominees were announced for the third annual Screen Nova Scotia Awards Gala. Comedy duo Bette MacDonald and Maynard Morrison will be hamming it up as the hosts this year.

“These awards celebrate the talent, creativity and vision that are the trademarks of Nova Scotia film, television, and digital animation,” says Erika Beatty, executive director of Screen Nova Scotia, in a press release.

The awards include a new addition—the Community Recognition award—celebrating valued members of the local film industry. First up for the award is Dave Myatt, who served as a link between film and the south end of Halifax. He worked at the Atlantic School of Theology, found in that neighbourhood, for over 17 years.

Nominees were presented by Screen Nova Scotia and Digital Animators of Nova Scotia (DANS). Nominees for the ACTRA Awards have yet to be announced.

Screen Nova Scotia Nominees

Best Feature Film:
Ariyah & Tristan's Inevitable Break-Up (Koumbie)
Exit Thread (Winter Light Productions, Paul Kimball)
Weirdos (Hold Fast Pictures, Bruce McDonald)
Werewolf (Grassfire Films, Ashley McKenzie)

Best Documentary Film:
My Life So Far (Nova Productions, Alan Collins)
Perfume War (Loud Baby Productions, Michael Melski)
Play Your Gender (Stephanie Clattenburg)
Quebec My Country Mon Pays (John Walker Productions, John Walker)

Best Short Film:
Black Cop (Black Rabbit Entertainment, Cory Bowles)
Fish (Heather Young)
How You Turned Into A Fish (Jenna Marks Films, Jenna Marks)
Hustle & Heart (Koumbie)

Best Animated Series:
Kulipari – Army of Frogs (Cartoon Conrad)
Little People (DHX Media)
Pickle & Peanut (Copernicus Studio)
Teen Titans Go (Copernicus Studio)

Best Television Series:
Mr. D (Topsail Entertainment)
This Hour Has 22 Minutes (DHX – Hour Productions)
Trailer Park Boys (Sunnyvale Productions)
Trailer Park Boys: Out of the Park (TPB OTP Productions)

Film Crew Excellence Award:
Angela Murphy-Production Designer
Sandra MacMurray-Props Builder
Sarah Byrne-Picture Editor
William Gerhardt-Greens Person

Digital Animators of Nova Scotia (DANS) Award for Outstanding Achievement in Animation:
DataMine (Animator Tim Tracey; Tim Tracey Animation)
Gummi (Animator Jeff Smith; DHX Studios)
Kulipari – Army of Frogs (Animator Jered MacPhee; Cartoon Conrad)

Support The Coast

At a time when the city needs local coverage more than ever, we’re asking for your help to support independent journalism. We are committed as always to providing free access to readers, particularly as we confront the impact of COVID-19 in Halifax and beyond.

Read more about the work we do here, or consider making a donation. Thank you for your support!

Related Locations

Pin It


Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Get more Halifax

Our Thursday email gets you caught up with The Coast. Sign up and go deep on Halifax.

Coast Top Ten

© 2021 Coast Publishing Ltd.