Pin It

Levels of Life 

By Julian Barnes (Random House)

I’ve thought about it for weeks and I still can’t wrap my head around this book. Sometimes, that’s a good thing–not here. Barnes’ last book, The Sense of an Ending, was infinitely re-readable, gorgeous and effective. I expected more of the same. But subject matter got in the way. When Barnes’ wife passed away, he devoted this book to the subject of grief–through a thinly veiled exploration into the history of ballooning. He makes a few weak metaphorical comparisons between the two, but ultimately, grief wins out. In the final third of the book, “The Loss of Depth,” Barnes’ agenda becomes clear: he is an atheist coming to terms with his belief that his wife is now nowhere; nothing. Ultimately, he reminds us, cynically, “Every story is a potential grief story.” The reader is made victim to Barnes’ gravitational pull; he succeeds only in demonstrating that what comes up, must come down.

Pin It



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Survey Asks

What’s the scariest Halifax ghost story?

  • Sidewalk closed: please use other side
  • We used to date
  • Why I’m leaving Nova Scotia
  • Closed early for private event
  • Route on detour
  • Does anyone have a truck I can borrow?

View Results

Art Attack

More »

In Print This Week

Vol 25, No 21
October 19, 2017

Cover Gallery »

Real Time Web Analytics

© 2017 Coast Publishing Ltd.