ECMA 2009 Music Award Nominees | Music | Halifax, Nova Scotia | THE COAST

ECMA 2009 Music Award Nominees

Here's a good Friday morning drinking game to play while reading this list: Procure large bottle of Bailey's. Procure cup of coffee. For every band you've never heard of on this list (or for every corporate sponsor), down a shot with a coffee chaser. Conversely, you may just opt to sigh loudly.

DVD of the Year: Squid - SQUID: The Evolution (Directors: Ryan Fraser, Mark Jamieson, Daniel St. Pierre, Ian MacMillan)The Northern Ramblers - The Northern Ramblers, "Sideways" (Directors: Jimmie Inch & Ian McInnis)Wes Jagoe - Live at the Pitt Upstairs (Director: Greg Hemmings)

Colemans Entertainer of the Year:Chris ColepaughDave GunningDavid MylesJill BarberJoel Plaskett Emergency

The Grenfell College, Memorial University Female Solo Recording of the Year:Christina Martin - Two HeartsJill Barber - ChancesNorma MacDonald - The Forest for the TreesTanya Davis - Gorgeous MorningTara Oram - Chasing the Sun

Group Recording of the Year presented by Western Petroleum:Hey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs (and around in your heart and on through your blood)Hot Toddy - TrioMatt Mays & El Torpedo - Terminal RomanceTroy MacGillivray & Shane Cook - When Here Meets ThereVishtèn - Vishtèn Live

Konica Minolta Male Solo Recording of the Year:Dave Carroll - Perfect BlueDavid Myles - On The LineDuane Andrews - RaindropsGordie Sampson - For The Few And Far BetweenMatt Andersen - Something In BetweenMax MacDonald - Songs of Home

FACTOR Recording of the Year:Damhnait Doyle - Lights Down LowGordie Sampson - For The Few And Far BetweenHey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs (and around in your heart and on through your blood)Jill Barber - ChancesMatt Mays & El Torpedo - Terminal Romance

CBC Galaxie Rising Star Recording of the Year:Chad Hatcher - Tunnels & PathwaysChris Picco - Ferris WheelJD Clarke - SatisfiedMeaghan Blanchard - Changing ThingsThe Tom Fun Orchestra - You Will Land with a Thud

Vibe Creative Group Single of the Year:Age of Daze - AfflictedGordie Sampson - We Are Young And So Is The NightJoel Plaskett Emergency - Face of the EarthJon Mullane - Make Your MoveMatt Mays & El Torpedo - Tall Trees

SOCAN Songwriter of the Year:Asif Illyas - "U Dream" (performed by MIR)Christina Martin - "Two Hearts" (performed by Christina Martin)Gordie Sampson (with J. Smith & JT Harding) - "We Are Young and So Is The Night" (performed by Gordie Sampson)Matt Mays - "Terminal Romance" (performed by Matt Mays & El Torpedo)Tim Baker - "New Goodbye" (performed by Hey Rosetta!)

Star Style Creative Works Video of the Year:Chad Hatcher - Do It All Again (Director: Harv)Drumlin - Stormy Weather Boys (Director: Joel Mackenzie)Rebekah Higgs - Parables (Director: Tim McDonough and Raised by Media)Tara Oram - Fly Girl (Director: Stephen Scott)The Tom Fun Orchestra - Watchmaker (Director: Christopher Ball)Wintersleep - Weighty Ghost (Director: Sean Wainsteim)

Newcap Radio Alternative Recording of the Year:Grand Theft Bus - Made UpwardsHey Rosetta! - Into Your Lungs (and around in your heart and on through your blood)Mardeen - Read Less MindsSleepless Nights - Turn Into VapourThe Tom Fun Orchestra - You Will Land with a Thud

Bluegrass Recording of the Year:Blue Horizon Bluegrass Band - No Stoppin' NowPaul Hébert - Les Pauvres RichesRoxeen Roberts - Red HandedThe Grass Mountain Hobos - The Grass Mountain HobosSpinney Brothers - Going Home

Blues Recording of the Year:Hot Toddy - TrioKeith Hallett - Bear With MeMatt Andersen - Something In BetweenTerry Whalen - The Devil's Fireplace

Children's Recording of the Year:Donna & Andy - Blue Skies and PiratesEleanor McCain - Bundle of JoyMaria Alley - Nature's LullabyRik Barron - ShineScotty and the Stars - Here We Go!

Classical Recording of the Year:Choeur Neil-Michaud - Le Chœur Neil-Michaud interprète : La Deuxième Messe en sol majeur pour les sociétés de chorales Charles Gounod et Autres chants sacrésDavid Chafe & Christopher Bowman - Over Hill and ValleyJasper Wood - A Child's Cry from Izieu - Oskar Morawetz complete works for violin and pianoPatricia Creighton, flute & Peter Allen, piano - Wind SongTrio: Bonnell, Bottazzini and Green - Souvenirs: Chamber Music for Horn Flute and Piano

Country Recording of the Year:Chris LeBlanc - Too Much Nothin'JD Clarke - SatisfiedRob Russell - Turnin' HeadsRyan Cook - Hot TimesTara Oram - Chasing the Sun

Folk Recording of the Year:David Myles - On The LineMax MacDonald - Songs of HomeMeaghan Blanchard - Changing ThingsSteven Bowers - HomingTeresa Ennis - Space

Instrumental Recording of the Year:Bill Brennan - Solo Piano 2Duane Andrews - RaindropsKendra MacGillivray - Love O' The Isles

Jazz Recording of the Year:Jill Barber - ChancesMark Duggan - Diggin' DugganMary Barry - Red Eye TonightPatrick Boyle - Still No WordShan Arsenault - Below Sea Level

Loud Recording of the Year:Gallactus - Nine Mile WoodsHolophonic Porno - ObsessionIron Giant - Creator of ScarsShelter With Thieves - A Dark Chapter in the Human Experiment

Newcap Radio Pop Recording of the Year:Aaron MacDonald - John Prine's AdviceChristina Martin - Two HeartsDamhnait Doyle - Lights Down LowDave Carroll - Perfect BlueGordie Sampson - For The Few And Far BetweenIan Foster - Room in the CityMIR - OK2Go!

Sirius Satellite Radio Rock Recording of the Year:Age of Daze - Hollywood EndingBattery Point - A Kick in the BloodMatt Mays & El Torpedo - Terminal RomancePat Deighan & The Orb Weavers - In A Fever In A DreamTerri Lynn Eddy Band - Tonight

Roots / Traditional Solo Recording of the Year:Brenda Stubbert - Endless MemoriesColette Cheverie - Hours Before DawnDominique Dupuis - BourrasqueJason Roach - Jason RoachNeil McDaniel - 10 Years Too Late

Roots / Traditional Group Recording of the Year presented by Central Dairies:Bette & Wallet - Voici. Bette & WalletLazy Jacks - Watercolour WindowsLa Famille Arseneault - Un Bouilli AcadienTroy MacGillivray & Shane Cook - When Here Meets ThereVishtèn - Vishtèn Live

World Recording of the Year:Dr. Zoo - Southern African Field StudiesIdlers - CornerRyan Leblanc - Against The Grain

Newcap Radio Aboriginal Recording of the Year:Gary Sappier - WantedMO3 - Phyllis Grant - Up Risin'The Flummies - This is the Life for Me

CBC Galaxie Francophone Recording of the Year:Bette & Wallet - Voici. Bette & WalletKevin McIntyre - Le monde est truquéMike Parker - Mon p'tit paradisPaul Hébert - Les Pauvres RichesRonald Bourgeois - J'ai trouvé dans une chanson

Gospel Recording of the Year:4Given - Fountain of LifeHugh Toner - Jane Robichaud - Angels and LightJulia Gannon - No place like hereLife Support - Roar of HeavenThe Burkes - The Reason We Sing

Rap / Hip-Hop Single Track Recording of the Year:Hotbox (feat. Spesh K & Y-Rush) - The Main EventJoe Buck - No MoreMic Boyd - Guess Who's BackMischif - The MottoMixre - Spit That Murder

Support The Coast

At a time when the city needs local coverage more than ever, we’re asking for your help to support independent journalism. We are committed as always to providing free access to readers, particularly as we confront the impact of COVID-19 in Halifax and beyond.

Read more about the work we do here, or consider making a donation. Thank you for your support!

Comments (1)

Add a comment

Add a Comment


Who will win the Super Bowl this Sunday?

Who will win the Super Bowl this Sunday?

Recent Comments