Best of Halifax

Best Member Of The Provincial Legislature

Best Member Of The Provincial Legislature

Gold Winner Gary Burrill

Silver Winner Brendan Maguire

Bronze Winner Lenore Zann

Last year when he won this award, Gary Burrill had just barely met the cutoff. A late-spring provincial election finally earned the NDP leader at seat at Province House. A repeat win now, after an actual year carrying his own weight for the New Democrats, is understandably a bit more meaningful. “Imagine!” says Burrill. “What a thing.” Though the NDP only occupies seven seats in the Leg, Burrill and his team continue to fight for the little guy by demanding a $15-an-hour minimum wage, while also tackling big-picture issues such as climate change. “It’s hard to think of myself without the other six,” says the NDP leader. “We’re a fighting unit.”

Comments (0)

Add a comment

Add a Comment

Get more Halifax

The Coast Daily email newsletter is your extra dose of the city Monday through Friday. Sign up and go deep on Halifax.