Pin It

Literary awards season 

Talented writers from all over Atlantic Canada get their due this weekend. Here are the nominees and events to take note of


the Writers’ Federation of Nova Scotia presents both The East Coast Literary Awards and the Atlantic Writing Competition, each geared towards celebrating local talent and exceptional reads. The East Coast Literary Awards jurors sifted through 64 submitted titles from all over the Atlantic provinces to come up with this tight little list of nine. Winners will be announced at the East Coast Literary Awards presentation in Halifax on September 20 at the Institute of Applied Creativity, 1-1061 Marginal Road at 7pm. The nominees:

Evelyn Richardson Non-Fiction Award:
John DeMont, A Good Day’s Work (Doubleday)
Richard Foot, Driven (Goose Lane)
Stephen Kimber, What Lies Across the Water (Fernwood)

Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award:
Shashi Bhat, The Family Took Shape (Cormorant Books)
Ed Kavanagh, Strays (Killick Press)
William Kowalski, The Hundred Hearts (Dundurn)

J. M. Abraham Poetry Award:
Mary Dalton, Hooking (Signal Editions)
Don Domanski, Bite Down Little Whisper (Brick Books)
Sue Goyette, Ocean (Gaspereau Press)

A reading event takes place Friday, September 19, 6:30pm at The Nook (2116 Gottingen Street) with Mary Dalton reading from Hooking and Alice Burdick reading on behalf of Don Domanski from Bite Down Little Whisper.

The Atlantic Writing Competition is a rite of passage for emerging writers. Judged by a group of volunteer readers, hopeful writers put their best manuscript forward for one of the five categories. The winners of the Atlantic Writing Competition will read at 11am on September 21 at the Word on the Street Festival on the Wonderful Words stage. The nominees (including a few current and former Coast affiliates—I see you Webb-Campbell, Moran and Palermo) are below.

Poetry Prize
Mary Ellen Sullivan, Visits
Shannon Webb-Campbell, Modern Astronomy
Isabel Blackmore, Poetry
Whitney Moran, Illusions
Shelley Thompson, Ada  

H.R. (Bill) Percy Novel Prize
Mary Pike, Foreign Soul
Ryan Blades, Apotheosis
Dorothy Redfurn, Death at the District Meeting

Budge Wilson Short Story Prize
Marlene Stanton, Jamie’s Angle
Mark Palermo, Oceans
Brittany Kraus, Murmurs
Dave Johnson, The Smile  

Creative Non-Fiction Prize
Glenna Jenkins, Digging for Bones
Aaron Williams, The Old Van and the Sea
Anya Zub, Chalk and Cheese
Anna Taylor, Shift  

Joyce Barkhouse Writing for Children Prize
Jim Sutherland, The House that Captain Built
Eric Hansen, USS Maytag
Betty Campbell, Peppi the Puffling
Clare O’Connor, Skateboard Sibby  

Young Adult Novel Prize
Melissa McAdam, JJ
Nayani Jensen, Minstrel’s Song
Noah Hollis, Venturing North
Marilyn Lohnes, Rarity

Pin It



Subscribe to this thread:

Add a comment

Survey Asks

Who should be the next Progressive Conservative leader?

  • Tim Houston
  • Elizabeth Smith-McCrossin
  • Julie Chaisson
  • John Lohr
  • Cecil Clarke

View Results

In Print This Week

Vol 25, No 38
February 15, 2018

Cover Gallery »

Real Time Web Analytics

© 2018 Coast Publishing Ltd.