Atlantic Book Award winners

Shandi Mitchell is the big winner, Mike Holmes gets love from the mayor.

When Mike Holmes win, we all win.

When Mike Holmes win, we all win.
  • When Mike Holmes win, we all win.

Sadly, we couldn't make last night's Atlantic Book Awards (or the beers after), but it looks like there were no big surprises—Linden MacIntyre and Shandi Mitchell were the big winners—except for one: Coast comic artist Mike Holmes won the Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Book Illustration for his roadtrip graphic novel, This American Drive: An Illustrated Road Trip (Invisible Publishing), portions of which originally appeared in The Coast. This means hand-shaking mayoral photo op., people. Nice work.

Here are all the winners:

The Mayor’s Award for Excellence in Book Illustration: Mike Holmes for This American Drive: An Illustrated Road Trip (Invisible Publishing).

Margaret and John Savage First Book Award and the Thomas Head Raddall Atlantic Fiction Prize: Shandi Mitchell for Under This Unbroken Sky (Penguin Canada)

Democracy 250 Atlantic Book Award for Historical Writing: Greg Cochkanoff and Bob Chaulk for SS Atlantic: The White Star Line’s First Disaster at Sea (Goose Lane Editions), which also won the Dartmouth Book Award for Non-fiction

Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction: Linden MacIntyre for The Bishop’s Man, which also took the Atlantic Independent Booksellers’ Choice Award

Evelyn Richardson Non-fiction Prize: John DeMont for Coal Black Heart: The Story of Coal and the Lives it Ruled (Doubleday Canada)

Atlantic Poetry Prize: Tonja Gunvaldsen Klaassen for Lean-To (Gaspereau Press)

Ann Connor Brimer Award for Children’s Literature:
Jill MacLean for The Present Tense of Prinny Murphy (Fitzhenry & Whiteside)

Lillian Shepherd Memorial Award for Excellence in Illustration: Scott A. Keating for What Colour is the Ocean? (Flanker Press; written by Gary Collins with Maggie Rose Parsons).

The Mayor’s Award for Cultural Achievement in Literature: Trudy Carey. Co-founder and manager for 31 years of Woozles Bookstore

APMA Best Atlantic-Published Book Award: Birds of Newfoundland by Ian Warkentin and Sandy Newton (Boulder Publications)

Support The Coast

At a time when the city needs local coverage more than ever, we’re asking for your help to support independent journalism. We are committed as always to providing free access to readers, particularly as we confront the impact of COVID-19 in Halifax and beyond.

Read more about the work we do here, or consider making a donation. Thank you for your support!

Comments (0)

Add a comment

Add a Comment


Did you vote in advance polls for the 2021 federal election?

Get more Halifax

Our Thursday email gets you caught up with The Coast. Sign up and go deep on Halifax.