All of the 2016 East Coast Music Award winners

Hey Rosetta!, Amelia Curran, Natalie MacMaster clean up nicely.

All of the 2016 East Coast Music Award winners
via Heather Kervanky on Instagram.
Hey Rosetta! rocks out in Sydney.

Hey Rosetta! took home the hardware at East Coast Music Awards this past weekend in Sydney. The Newfoundland group won four of the six seven awards they were nominated for—Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Group Recording of the Year and Rock Recording of the Year.

Other big winners included Amelia Curran and Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy.

The Coast picked up its first ECMA for Media Outlet of the Year. Congratulations and thanks to all the writers and photographers who helped make that happen. And props to our staff writer Adria Young, who was also nominated for Media Person of the Year.

A complete list of the winners can be found below.

  • Album of the Year: Hey Rosetta! - Second Sight
  • Song of the Year: Hey Rosetta! - “Soft Offering (For the Oft Suffering)”
  • Aboriginal Artist of the Year: City Natives
  • Blues Recording of the Year: John Campbelljohn - Chin Up
  • Bucky Adams Memorial Award: Chelsea Amber - Introducing Chelsea Amber
  • Classical Composition of the Year: Dinuk Wijeratne - Two Pop Songs on Antique Poems
  • Classical Recording of the Year: Symphony Nova Scotia - The How and Why of Memory
  • Country Recording of the Year: Whitney Rose - Heartbreaker of the Year
  • Electronic Recording of the Year: Ryan Hemsworth - Alone for the First Time
  • Folk Recording of the Year: Amelia Curran - They Promised You Mercy
  • Francophone Recording of the Year: Joey Robin Haché - Repaver l'âme
  • Gospel Recording of the Year: Informants - Ezekiel
  • Group Recording of the Year: Hey Rosetta! - Second Sight
  • Jazz Recording of the Year: Jerry Granelli - What I Hear Now
  • Loud Recording of the Year: Dumpster Mummy - TRENCHFOOT
  • Pop Recording of the Year (shared): Christina Martin - It’ll be Alright, Coyote - Proof of Life
  • Rap/Hip-Hop Recording of the Year: Quake Matthews - Rap Music
  • Rising Star Recording of the Year: Fortunate Ones - The Bliss
  • Rock Recording of the Year: Hey Rosetta! - Second Sight
  • Roots/Traditional Group Recording of the Year: Vishtèn - Terre Rouge
  • Solo Recording of the Year: Jenn Grant - Compostela
  • Song Writer of the Year: Amelia Curran
  • Traditional Instrument Recording of the Year: Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy - One
  • Fans’ Choice Entertainer of the Year: Natalie MacMaster & Donnell Leahy
  • Fans’ Choice Video of the Year: Everglow - “Feel Your Heart”
  • Company of the Year: Spincount
  • Event of the Year: Celtic Colours International Festival
  • Graphic/Media Artist of the Year: Deep Hollow Print
  • Live Sound Engineer of the Year: Kyle McDonald
  • Management/Manager of the Year: Sonic Entertainment Group
  • Media Outlet of the Year: The Coast: Halifax’s Weekly
  • Media Person of the Year: Ryan McNutt
  • Producer of the Year: Joel Plaskett
  • Studio Engineer of the Year: Mike “Sheppy” Shepherd
  • Studio of the Year: Lakewind Sound Studios
  • Venue of the Year: The Mack (Confederation Centre)
  • Video of the Year: Mo Kenney - “Telephones”

Support The Coast

At a time when the city needs local coverage more than ever, we’re asking for your help to support independent journalism. We are committed as always to providing free access to readers, particularly as we confront the impact of COVID-19 in Halifax and beyond.

Read more about the work we do here, or consider making a donation. Thank you for your support!

Comments (0)

Add a comment

Add a Comment

Get more Halifax

The Coast Daily email newsletter is your extra dose of the city Monday through Friday. Sign up and go deep on Halifax.

Recent Comments