Pin It

Wednesday, June 17, 2015

Who got Music Nova Scotia's Export Development Program grants in 2014-2015?

Big money, no whammies

Posted By on Wed, Jun 17, 2015 at 11:19 AM

click to enlarge David Myles - HIEP VU
  • Hiep Vu
  • David Myles

Music Nova Scotia's annual general meeting was last night, where MNS members (597 eligible voters in total, with a 36% voter turnout this year, the highest turnout in MNS history) decided on the board members. In addition, the annual report, prepared by MNS executive director Scott Long was presented. There's lots to read here, including who performed on international showcases, info about member services, membership breakdowns (by genre, region and more), financial statements, a report on Nova Scotia Music Week 2014 and the breakdown of funding for the Export Development Program grants in 2014-2015.

It's worth a read, especially for Music Nova Scotia members, potential members, or just anyone else who likes to nose around in public business. Here's the breakdown of who got how much sweet, sweet government cash in the 2014-2015 round of export development program grants. These grants are normally used for marketing, touring and showcasing. Eligibility requirements are listed here.

Read the entire annual report here.

By artist/group, total Export Development Program Funding for 2014-15

Jenn Grant $26,304
Christina Martin $20,304
In-Flight Safety $20,275
Gabrielle Papillon $18,476.38
Gloryhound $13,072.50
Rich Aucoin $11,322
Mo Kenney $10,500
David Myles $9364.25
Gypsophilia $7956.62
Aqua Alta $7500
SoHo Ghetto $7200
The Town Heroes $6787.50
Jimmy Rankin $6750
Kim Wempe $6750
The Extremities $6630.90
Glory Glory $5461.66
Ria Mae $5000
The Stanfields $5000
Gianna Lauren $4658.06
Matt Andersen $4450
John Campbelljohn $4412.76
Kestrels $4000
Molly Thomason (T Thomason) $3700
Jerry Granelli $3600
Carleton Stone $3500
Napalm Raid $3200
Vogue Dots $3067.61
Ian Sherwood $3000
Charlie A’Court $3000
J-Bru $3000
Crosss $2900
Cassie and Maggie MacDonald $2700
Cyndi Cain $2700
AA Wallace $2500
Matthew Hornell $2500
Ghettosocks $2500
Urban Surf Kings $2034.63
Joel Plaskett $2000
Scientists of Sound $2000
Ben Caplan $2000
Ronald Bourgeois $1800
Bit Funk $1750
Steven MacDougall $1742.25
Dave Gunning $1687.50
Port Cities $1500
Ian Janes $1500
Magnolia $500
Morgan MacDonald $500
Jon Mullane $500
TOTAL $274,108.62

Industry Professionals

Burnt Tree Entertainment Inc. $7529
Sheri Jones $6200
Sonic Entertainment Group $6000
SpinCount $3167.13
Janesta Boudreau $2395.25
Forward Music Group $1500
Janesta Boudreau $780.00
Krista Keough $500
TOTAL $27,291.38

2014-2015 jurors were: Alex Meade, Andrea Dawson Thomas, Christine Buiteman, Don Brownrigg, Gianna Lauren, Gordon Lapp, Heather Gibson, Jamie Robinson, Jason Levangie, Jason Mingo, Josh Hogan, Krista Keough, Kyle Cunjak, Lulu Healy, Mickey Quase, Mike Greatorex, Myke Bulley, Ria Mae, Val Denn

Tags: , ,

Survey Asks

What should Halifax do about Aribnb?

  • Limit the number of listings one person can have
  • Charge a per-night fee that funds affordable housing
  • Limit Aribnbs to actual home-sharing only
  • Set a cap for percentage of a neighbourhood that can have Airbnbs
  • Leave it be and let the market sort itself out

View Results


Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Subscribe to this thread:
Showing 1-1 of 1

Add a comment

Remember, it's entirely possible to disagree without spiralling into a thread of negativity and personal attacks. We have the right to remove (and you have the right to report) any comments that go against our policy.

The Scene

More »

In Print This Week

Vol 27, No 40
February 27, 2020

Cover Gallery »

Real Time Web Analytics

© 2020 Coast Publishing Ltd.